Paw Privileges
Evidence DatabaseSaved evidence
Claim evidence

Reduces mild-to-moderate OA signs in dogs

Grade BSolid canine or strong extrapolated evidenceSave claim
Ingredient: Glucosamine (HCl) · joint

Plain-language summary

Meta-analyses show a small but real benefit; effect is smaller than NSAIDs and slower to onset.

About the ingredient

What it is

Amino sugar used in cartilage matrix.

Why it's used

Included in joint-support formulas.

Also known as: Glucosamine Hydrochloride

Cited studies (5)

Canine studies
  • Glucosamine and chondroitin use in canines for osteoarthritis: A review
    Bhathal A, Spryszak M, Louizos C, Frankel G · Open Veterinary Journal · 2017
    Study summary
    Limited quality
    Design score 5/11
    Design
    SYSTEMATIC_REVIEW
    Species
    DOG
    Sample size
    Not reported
    Duration
    Not reported
    Controls / blinding
    Not reported
    Funding
    Not reported
    Dose studied: 20 mg/kg/day glucosamine, 15 mg/kg/day chondroitin
    Strengths
    • Systematic review of multiple studies
    • Conducted in dogs
    Limitations
    • Sample size not recorded
    • No control group recorded
    • Study duration not recorded

    Relevance to this claim: Reviews canine glucosamine/chondroitin dosing and outcomes.

  • Glucosamine and chondroitin use in canines for osteoarthritis: A review.
    Bhathal A, Spryszak M, Louizos C, Frankel G · Open veterinary journal · 2017
    Study summary
    Very limited quality
    Design score 2/11
    Design
    Journal Article; Review
    Species
    dog
    Sample size
    Not reported
    Duration
    Not reported
    Controls / blinding
    Not reported
    Funding
    Not reported
    Strengths
    • Conducted in dogs
    Limitations
    • Sample size not recorded
    • No control group recorded
    • Study duration not recorded

    Relevance to this claim: Ingredient-level evidence for Glucosamine (HCl)

  • The Fate of Oral Glucosamine Traced by (13)C Labeling in the Dog.
    Dodge GR, Regatte RR, Noyszewski EA, Hall JO, Sharma AV, Callaway DA, Reddy R · Cartilage · 2011
    Study summary
    Very limited quality
    Design score 2/11
    Design
    Journal Article
    Species
    dog
    Sample size
    Not reported
    Duration
    Not reported
    Controls / blinding
    Not reported
    Funding
    Not reported
    Strengths
    • Conducted in dogs
    Limitations
    • Sample size not recorded
    • No control group recorded
    • Study duration not recorded

    Relevance to this claim: Ingredient-level evidence for Glucosamine (HCl)

  • Study summary
    Moderate quality
    Design score 6/11
    Design
    RCT
    Species
    dog
    Sample size
    Not reported
    Duration
    Not reported
    Controls / blinding
    Controlled comparison group (per recorded study design)
    Funding
    Not reported
    Strengths
    • Randomized trial design
    • Conducted in dogs
    Limitations
    • Sample size not recorded
    • Study duration not recorded

    Outcome: Modest improvement vs placebo over 70 days

  • Therapeutic Efficacy and Safety of Undenatured Type II Collagen Singly or in Combination with Glucosamine and Chondroitin in Arthritic Dogs.
    D'Altilio M, Peal A, Alvey M, Simms C, Curtsinger A, Gupta RC, Canerdy TD, Goad JT, Bagchi M, Bagchi D · Toxicology mechanisms and methods · 2007
    Study summary
    Very limited quality
    Design score 2/11
    Design
    Journal Article
    Species
    dog
    Sample size
    Not reported
    Duration
    Not reported
    Controls / blinding
    Not reported
    Funding
    Not reported
    Strengths
    • Conducted in dogs
    Limitations
    • Sample size not recorded
    • No control group recorded
    • Study duration not recorded

    Relevance to this claim: Ingredient-level evidence for Glucosamine (HCl)

Products in our catalog with Glucosamine (HCl) (28)

Educational information only. Not veterinary advice. Grades reflect published dog research and reviewer consensus, not marketing.