Wood Mountain Naturals

Beef

Submit correction or new panel
Dehydrated

An independent Feed Wise evaluation of Wood Mountain Naturals Beef, built from the published ingredient panel, guaranteed analysis, certifications and processing method.

Named beef (muscle meat, liver, heart and kidney) first
Dehydrated
Complete and balanced (manufacturer claim)
Manufactured in Canada
Size
4.00 kg
Food type
Dehydrated
UPC
Not recorded
Brand
Wood Mountain Naturals
Country
Canada
Feed Wise Score
6.2out of 10
GOOD

Complete diet: complete and balanced (manufacturer claim; standard not named)

71%
Confidence
Moderate confidence

Share of scoring criteria backed by published evidence.

Product type
Complete & Balanced Food
Complete & balanced
Manufacturer claim
Large breed growth
NOT PUBLISHED
Standard named by source
Not named in reviewed source

Manufacturer statement: “The manufacturer states that its recipes provide a complete and balanced diet; no named adequacy standard or life stage is provided in the cited FAQ.” (source: manufacturer product page)

Protein

37%

Fat

28%

Estimated carbohydrate

Not calculable

Processing

Air dried

Where to Buy

Expert Summary

Feed Wise considers this a workable everyday option for Wood Mountain Naturals, Beef, a dehydrated formula led by beef and goat yogurt. The manufacturer describes this as a complete daily diet; the reviewed source does not name a nutritional adequacy standard. Owners should note that it declares wheat.

What is actually in this food?

Beef (muscle meat, liver, heart and kidney), goat yogurt, apples, carrots, oats, squash, blueberries, zucchini, kale, apple cider vinegar, wheat germ, oranges, olive oil, eggs vitamins/minerals (vitamin D, calcium, iron, zinc, sodium)

First 5 ingredients

1. Beef (muscle meat, liver, heart and kidney)

Tier A, exceptional food ingredient

Named Animal Protein

Named animal muscle meat. Highest value protein source in the FeedWise model.

2. goat yogurt

Tier B, high quality supportive ingredient

goat yogurt

Species identity is verified by manufacturer evidence on file.

3. apples

Tier B, high quality supportive ingredient

Whole Food Plant

Whole food plant ingredient contributing fibre, antioxidants and micronutrients.

4. carrots

Tier B, high quality supportive ingredient

Whole Food Plant

Whole food plant ingredient contributing fibre, antioxidants and micronutrients.

5. oats

Tier C, moderate or neutral ingredient

Whole Carbohydrate

Whole oat grain. A moderate glycemic whole carbohydrate.

Animal Protein Quality

17.2 / 25

This is the largest single category in FeedWise. It looks at which animal ingredients are present, whether the species is named, whether organs, egg and named fats are included, and whether concentrated plant proteins are diluting the animal content.

  • Named animal protein first

    Beef (muscle meat, liver, heart and kidney) is an animal ingredient in position 1; manufacturer evidence on file identifies its species blend.

    +8 / 8
  • Animal Prominence Index

    Animal Prominence Index 39 of 100. This is a FeedWise position-weighted measure of how far animal ingredients dominate the ingredient panel. It is a label-position index, not a manufacturer-disclosed recipe percentage.

    +1.1 / 5
  • Liver

    Liver is included.

    +2 / 2
  • Heart

    Heart is included.

    +2 / 2
  • Other appropriate organs

    Additional organs included: kidney.

    +1 / 2
  • Whole egg

    Egg is included on the label.

    +1 / 1
  • Named animal or marine fats

    No named animal or marine fat identified.

    0 / 2
  • Verified animal ingredient proportion

    The manufacturer has not published an animal ingredient percentage. Excluded from the score rather than counted against the product.

    NOT SCORED

Ingredient Quality

15.6 / 20

Every ingredient is classified into a quality tier and weighted by its position on the label, so ingredient number one counts far more than ingredient number fifteen.

  • Position weighted ingredient quality

    13 food ingredients assessed by quality tier with early positions weighted most heavily. 1 fortifying nutrient or preservative excluded from the average.

    +15.6 / 20

Carbohydrate and Plant Load

7.5 / 15
  • Estimated carbohydrate: not calculable
  • Pulse ingredients detected: none
  • Plant protein concentrates: none
  • Ingredient splitting: not detected

Carbohydrate is not calculable because ash is not disclosed. It is left blank rather than overstated.

  • Carbohydrate burden

    Carbohydrate is not precisely calculable because ash has not been disclosed. This is an evidence limitation, not evidence of high carbohydrate, so it is removed from the score and reported as reduced confidence.

    NOT SCORED
  • Ingredient based plant load

    Plant load assessed as MODERATE. Carbohydrate bearing plant ingredients: oats (whole grain), wheat germ (refined grain).

    +4 / 8

How is it made?

9 / 10

Processing method: Air dried. This category measures food integrity only. Raw handling safety is assessed separately under Safety and Quality Control, so a raw food can score well here and still lose safety points.

  • Processing method

    Air dried processing. Food integrity only. Raw handling safety is assessed separately under Safety and Quality Control.

    +9 / 10

How transparent is the manufacturer?

5.6 / 10
  • Animal species clearly identified

    Every animal ingredient names its species.

  • Ingredient sourcing disclosed

    Not publicly verified

  • Country or region identified

    Country or region of origin published: Canada.

  • Manufacturing location identified

    Not publicly verified

  • Detailed nutritional analysis

    A detailed nutritional analysis is published.

  • Traceability information

    Not publicly verified

  • Manufacturer provides sourcing detail

    Not publicly verified

  • Overall formulation transparency

    A complete ingredient panel and an identified manufacturer are on file.

Marketing language alone does not count. Anything that has not been published is shown as not publicly verified rather than as a failure.

Nutritional Formulation

7.5 / 10
  • Manufacturer complete and balanced claim

    The manufacturer describes this as complete and balanced; the reviewed source does not name a nutritional adequacy standard.

  • Detailed nutritional analysis available

    A full guaranteed analysis is on file. Energy content is not published.

  • Qualified formulation expertise

    Not publicly verified

  • Feeding trial or validation

    Not publicly verified

  • Calcium and phosphorus disclosed

    Not publicly verified

Safety and Quality Control

0 / 10
  • Batch testing

    Not publicly verified

  • Pathogen testing

    Not publicly verified

  • Supplier verification

    Not publicly verified

  • Lot traceability

    Not publicly verified

  • Nutrient verification

    Not publicly verified

  • Manufacturing quality program

    Not publicly verified

  • Recall context and corrective action

    Not publicly verified

A recall alone does not destroy a score. Severity, cause, frequency, recency and documented corrective action are all considered.

What we could not verify

Unknown information is not treated as bad information. It is scored as unverified and it lowers the confidence rating instead.

  • Carbohydrate (incomplete guaranteed analysis)
  • Verified animal ingredient percentage
  • Ingredient sourcing evidence
  • Manufacturing location
  • Quality control and testing evidence
  • Calcium and phosphorus
  • Pathogen testing
Submit a correction or supply missing evidence

Where to Buy

Canadian retailers on record. Stock and price vary by store and province.

    Guaranteed Analysis

    As-fed basis
    Protein
    37%
    40% dry matter
    Minimum crude protein as declared on the label.
    Fat
    28%
    Minimum crude fat as declared.
    Fibre
    1.8%
    Maximum crude fibre as declared.
    Moisture
    8%
    Maximum moisture as declared.

    Certifications & Claims

    Published certifications and manufacturer claims appear with their source where available. A source link documents the claim; it is not independent certification.

    Not disclosed — no third-party certification is confirmed for this product yet.

    FeedWise Findings

    The FeedWise Verdict

    6.2/ 10GoodModerate Confidence

    Why it scored this way

    • Complete diet: complete and balanced (manufacturer claim; standard not named)
    • Solid named animal protein base
    • No concentrated plant protein inflating the protein figure
    • Limited publicly verified sourcing information
    • Little publicly verified quality control evidence

    Full score breakdown

    Animal Protein Quality17.2 / 25
    Ingredient Quality15.6 / 20
    Carbohydrate and Plant Load7.5 / 15
    Processing and Food Integrity9 / 10
    Transparency and Sourcing5.6 / 10
    Nutritional Formulation7.5 / 10
    Safety and Quality Control0 / 10
    Total62.4 / 100

    FeedWise Score 6.2 · Good · Moderate Confidence

    How FeedWise Scores Dog Food →

    Scored by the FeedWise 100 point model. Read the full methodology.

    Community reviews do not affect the Feed Wise score.

    Owner reviews

    Real experiences from Paw Privileges members. Reviews never affect the Wise score — scoring is based only on label evidence.

    • No reviews yet — be the first.

    Similar Products

    More from Wood Mountain Naturals