Performatrin Ultra

Wholesome Grains Lamb & Beef Stew Adult Dog Food

Submit correction or new panel
Wet / Canned

An independent Feed Wise evaluation of Performatrin Ultra Wholesome Grains Lamb & Beef Stew Adult Dog Food, built from the published ingredient panel, guaranteed analysis, certifications and processing method.

Named lamb first
Named organ meat included
4 named animal proteins
Wet / Canned
Size
13.2 oz, 13.2 oz - 12 pk
Food type
Wet / Canned
UPC
Not recorded
Brand
Performatrin Ultra
Country
Not disclosed
Feed Wise Score
5.4out of 10
FAIR

Complete diet: complete and balanced (aafco)

75%
Confidence
Moderate confidence

Share of scoring criteria backed by published evidence.

Product type
Complete & Balanced Food
Complete & balanced
VERIFIED
Large breed growth
NOT APPLICABLE
Standard named by source
AAFCO

Manufacturer statement: “Formulated to meet AAFCO Dog Food Nutrient Profiles for adult maintenance.” (source: manufacturer product page)

Protein

8.5%

Fat

6%

Estimated carbohydrate

Not calculable

Processing

Canned

Where to Buy

Expert Summary

Feed Wise rates this below the standard we look for in this category for Performatrin Ultra Wholesome Grains Lamb & Beef Stew Adult Dog Food, a canned wet food formula led by lamb, lamb broth and beef broth. The manufacturer publishes an AAFCO nutritional adequacy statement, so it can be fed as a complete daily diet for adult maintenance. Owners should note that the country of manufacture is not disclosed.

What is actually in this food?

Lamb, Lamb Broth, Beef Broth, Beef Liver, Beef, Dried Egg Product, Peas, Potato Starch, Sweet Potatoes, Natural Flavors, Rice, Guar Gum, Red Peppers, Sunflower Oil, Salt, Brewers Dried Yeast, Sodium Phosphate, Potassium Chloride, Blueberries, Cranberries, Minerals (Zinc Proteinate, Iron Proteinate, Copper Proteinate, Cobalt Proteinate, Manganese Proteinate, Sodium Selenite, Potassium Iodide), Inulin, Garlic, Calcium Carbonate, Rosemary, Magnesium Sulfate, Fish Oil (Preserved With MixedTocopherols)

First 5 ingredients

1. Lamb

Tier A, exceptional food ingredient

Named Animal Protein

Named animal muscle meat. Highest value protein source in the FeedWise model.

2. Lamb Broth

Tier A, exceptional food ingredient

Animal Protein, Species Not Specified

Animal derived broth contributing moisture and collagen.

3. Beef Broth

Tier A, exceptional food ingredient

Animal Protein, Species Not Specified

Animal derived broth contributing moisture and collagen.

4. Beef Liver

Tier A, exceptional food ingredient

Named Organ Meat

Named liver. Nutrient dense organ meat.

5. Beef

Tier A, exceptional food ingredient

Named Animal Protein

Named animal muscle meat. Highest value protein source in the FeedWise model.

Animal Protein Quality

16.6 / 25

This is the largest single category in FeedWise. It looks at which animal ingredients are present, whether the species is named, whether organs, egg and named fats are included, and whether concentrated plant proteins are diluting the animal content.

  • Named animal protein first

    Lamb is a named animal ingredient in position 1.

    +8 / 8
  • Animal Prominence Index

    Animal Prominence Index 59 of 100. This is a FeedWise position-weighted measure of how far animal ingredients dominate the ingredient panel. It is a label-position index, not a manufacturer-disclosed recipe percentage.

    +2.6 / 5
  • Liver

    Liver is included.

    +2 / 2
  • Heart

    No heart in the ingredient panel.

    0 / 2
  • Other appropriate organs

    No additional organ meats identified.

    0 / 2
  • Whole egg

    Dried Egg Product is included.

    +1 / 1
  • Named animal or marine fats

    Named animal or marine fat sources: Fish Oil (Preserved With MixedTocopherols).

    +1 / 2
  • Verified animal ingredient proportion

    The manufacturer has not published an animal ingredient percentage. Excluded from the score rather than counted against the product.

    NOT SCORED

Ingredient Quality

13.2 / 20

Every ingredient is classified into a quality tier and weighted by its position on the label, so ingredient number one counts far more than ingredient number fifteen.

  • Position weighted ingredient quality

    16 food ingredients assessed by quality tier with early positions weighted most heavily. 11 fortifying nutrients or preservatives excluded from the average.

    +17.2 / 20
  • Vague animal ingredients

    Animal ingredients without an identified species: Lamb Broth, Beef Broth.

    -3
  • Ingredient splitting

    Multiple fractions of the same core ingredient appear: POTATO FAMILY (Potato Starch, Sweet Potatoes).

    -1

Carbohydrate and Plant Load

2.9 / 15
  • Estimated carbohydrate: not calculable
  • Pulse ingredients detected: Peas
  • Plant protein concentrates: none
  • Ingredient splitting: POTATO FAMILY (Potato Starch, Sweet Potatoes)

Carbohydrate is not calculable because ash is not disclosed. It is left blank rather than overstated.

  • Carbohydrate burden

    Carbohydrate is not precisely calculable because ash has not been disclosed. This is an evidence limitation, not evidence of high carbohydrate, so it is removed from the score and reported as reduced confidence.

    NOT SCORED
  • Ingredient based plant load

    Plant load assessed as HIGH. Carbohydrate bearing plant ingredients: Peas (whole pulse), Potato Starch (refined starch), Sweet Potatoes (starchy vegetable), Rice (whole grain), Guar Gum (fibre ingredient), Inulin (fibre ingredient).

    +2.1 / 8
  • Split plant fractions

    Split plant fractions understate the true plant load in the ingredient order.

    -1

How is it made?

7 / 10

Processing method: Canned. This category measures food integrity only. Raw handling safety is assessed separately under Safety and Quality Control, so a raw food can score well here and still lose safety points.

  • Processing method

    Canned processing. Food integrity only. Raw handling safety is assessed separately under Safety and Quality Control.

    +7 / 10

How transparent is the manufacturer?

2.2 / 10
  • Animal species clearly identified

    Not publicly verified

  • Ingredient sourcing disclosed

    Not publicly verified

  • Country or region identified

    Not publicly verified

  • Manufacturing location identified

    Not publicly verified

  • Detailed nutritional analysis

    A detailed nutritional analysis is published.

  • Traceability information

    Not publicly verified

  • Manufacturer provides sourcing detail

    Not publicly verified

  • Overall formulation transparency

    A complete ingredient panel and an identified manufacturer are on file.

Marketing language alone does not count. Anything that has not been published is shown as not publicly verified rather than as a failure.

Nutritional Formulation

7.5 / 10
  • Complete and balanced for the stated life stage

    Formulated to meet AAFCO Dog Food Nutrient Profiles for adult maintenance.

  • Detailed nutritional analysis available

    A full guaranteed analysis with energy content is on file.

  • Qualified formulation expertise

    Not publicly verified

  • Feeding trial or validation

    Not publicly verified

  • Calcium and phosphorus disclosed

    Not publicly verified

Safety and Quality Control

5 / 10
  • Batch testing

    Not publicly verified

  • Pathogen testing

    Not publicly verified

  • Supplier verification

    Supplier or contaminant verification is documented.

  • Lot traceability

    Not publicly verified

  • Nutrient verification

    Finished product nutrient verification is documented.

  • Manufacturing quality program

    A recognised manufacturing quality program is documented (for example HACCP, SQF or CFIA registration).

  • Recall context and corrective action

    No recalls on file.

A recall alone does not destroy a score. Severity, cause, frequency, recency and documented corrective action are all considered.

What we could not verify

Unknown information is not treated as bad information. It is scored as unverified and it lowers the confidence rating instead.

  • Carbohydrate (incomplete guaranteed analysis)
  • Verified animal ingredient percentage
  • Ingredient sourcing evidence
  • Manufacturing location
  • Calcium and phosphorus
  • Country of manufacture
  • Pathogen testing
Submit a correction or supply missing evidence

Where to Buy

Canadian retailers on record. Stock and price vary by store and province.

    Guaranteed Analysis

    As-fed basis
    Protein
    8.5%
    47% dry matter
    Minimum crude protein as declared on the label.
    Fat
    6%
    Minimum crude fat as declared.
    Fibre
    1%
    Maximum crude fibre as declared.
    Moisture
    82%
    Maximum moisture as declared.
    Energy
    1032
    kcal / kg
    Metabolisable energy per kilogram.
    Full source analysis

    Crude Protein (min) 8.5% Crude Fat (min) 6.0% Crude Fiber (max) 1.0% Moisture (max) 82.0% Calorie Content: 416 kcal/can

    Full source ingredient list

    Lamb, Lamb Broth, Beef Broth, Beef Liver, Beef, Dried Egg Product, Peas, Potato Starch, Sweet Potatoes, Natural Flavors, Rice, Guar Gum, Red Peppers, Sunflower Oil, Salt, Brewers Dried Yeast, Sodium Phosphate, Potassium Chloride, Blueberries, Cranberries, Minerals (Zinc Proteinate, Iron Proteinate, Copper Proteinate, Cobalt Proteinate, Manganese Proteinate, Sodium Selenite, Potassium Iodide), Inulin, Garlic, Vitamins (Vitamin E Supplement, Thiamine Mononitrate, Niacin Supplement, D-Calcium Pantothenate, Vitamin A Supplement, Riboflavin Supplement, Biotin, Vitamin B12 Supplement, Pyridoxine Hydrochloride, Vitamin D3 Supplement, Folic Acid), Calcium Carbonate, Rosemary, Magnesium Sulfate, Fish Oil (Preserved With MixedTocopherols).

    Manufacturer feeding instructions

    Adult - 374g (13.2oz) can: feed your dog 1 can per 6.8kg (15lb) of body weight per day. Amount of food your dog requires will depend on activity, age, environment and breed. Feed at room temperature and refrigerate unused portion. Always provide access to clean, fresh water.

    View product source

    Formulated to meet AAFCO Dog Food Nutrient Profiles for adult maintenance.

    Certifications & Claims

    Published certifications and manufacturer claims appear with their source where available. A source link documents the claim; it is not independent certification.

    AAFCO nutrient profile statement
    Manufacturer claim

    FeedWise Findings

    The FeedWise Verdict

    5.4/ 10FairModerate Confidence

    Why it scored this way

    • Complete diet: complete and balanced (aafco)
    • Solid named animal protein base
    • No concentrated plant protein inflating the protein figure
    • Limited publicly verified sourcing information

    Full score breakdown

    Animal Protein Quality16.6 / 25
    Ingredient Quality13.2 / 20
    Carbohydrate and Plant Load2.9 / 15
    Processing and Food Integrity7 / 10
    Transparency and Sourcing2.2 / 10
    Nutritional Formulation7.5 / 10
    Safety and Quality Control5 / 10
    Total54.4 / 100

    FeedWise Score 5.4 · Fair · Moderate Confidence

    How FeedWise Scores Dog Food →

    Scored by the FeedWise 100 point model. Read the full methodology.

    Community reviews do not affect the Feed Wise score.

    Owner reviews

    Real experiences from Paw Privileges members. Reviews never affect the Wise score — scoring is based only on label evidence.

    • No reviews yet — be the first.

    Similar Products

    More from Performatrin Ultra