Performatrin Ultra

Grain-Free Chicken Pate Senior Dog Food

Submit correction or new panel
Wet / Canned

An independent Feed Wise evaluation of Performatrin Ultra Grain-Free Chicken Pate Senior Dog Food, built from the published ingredient panel, guaranteed analysis, certifications and processing method.

Named chicken first
2 named organ ingredients
5 named animal proteins
Wet / Canned
Size
13.2 oz, 13.2 oz - 12 pk
Food type
Wet / Canned
UPC
Not recorded
Brand
Performatrin Ultra
Country
Not disclosed
Feed Wise Score
6.3out of 10
GOOD

Complete diet: complete and balanced (aafco)

75%
Confidence
Moderate confidence

Share of scoring criteria backed by published evidence.

Product type
Complete & Balanced Food
Complete & balanced
VERIFIED
Large breed growth
NOT APPLICABLE
Standard named by source
AAFCO

Manufacturer statement: “Formulated to meet AAFCO Dog Food Nutrient Profiles for adult maintenance.” (source: manufacturer product page)

Protein

8%

Fat

4.5%

Estimated carbohydrate

Not calculable

Processing

Canned

Where to Buy

Expert Summary

Feed Wise considers this a workable everyday option for Performatrin Ultra Grain Free Chicken Pate Senior Dog Food, a canned wet food formula led by chicken, turkey and whitefish. The manufacturer publishes an AAFCO nutritional adequacy statement, so it can be fed as a complete daily diet for senior maintenance. Owners should note that the country of manufacture is not disclosed.

What is actually in this food?

Chicken, Vegetable Broth, Turkey, Chicken Liver, Potatoes, Peas, Whitefish, Green Beans, Pea Fiber, Carrots, Chicken Heart, Broccoli, Red Peppers, Guar Gum, Ground Flaxseed, Natural flavour, Inulin, Potassium Chloride, Salt, Cassia Gum, Xanthan Gum, Choline Chloride, Turmeric, Zinc Proteinate, Iron Proteinate, Yucca Schidigera Extract, Apples, Cranberries, Blueberries, L-Carnitine, Thiamine Mononitrate, Parsley, Oregano, Rosemary, Vitamin E Supplement, Copper Proteinate, Cobalt Proteinate, Manganese Proteinate, Sodium Selenite, Niacin Supplement, D-Calcium Pantothenate, Vitamin A Supplement, Riboflavin Supplement, Biotin, Vitamin B12 Supplement, Potassium Iodide, Pyridoxine Hydrochloride, Vitamin D3 Supplement, Folic Acid

First 5 ingredients

1. Chicken

Tier A, exceptional food ingredient

Named Animal Protein

Named animal muscle meat. Highest value protein source in the FeedWise model.

2. Vegetable Broth

Tier B, high quality supportive ingredient

Whole Food Plant

A blend of whole vegetables contributing fibre and micronutrients.

3. Turkey

Tier A, exceptional food ingredient

Named Animal Protein

Named animal muscle meat. Highest value protein source in the FeedWise model.

4. Chicken Liver

Tier A, exceptional food ingredient

Named Organ Meat

Named liver. Nutrient dense organ meat.

5. Potatoes

Tier C, moderate or neutral ingredient

Whole Carbohydrate

Whole carbohydrate source. Evaluated on position, quantity and combined plant load rather than treated as automatically poor.

Animal Protein Quality

17.2 / 25

This is the largest single category in FeedWise. It looks at which animal ingredients are present, whether the species is named, whether organs, egg and named fats are included, and whether concentrated plant proteins are diluting the animal content.

  • Named animal protein first

    Chicken is a named animal ingredient in position 1.

    +8 / 8
  • Animal Prominence Index

    Animal Prominence Index 53 of 100. This is a FeedWise position-weighted measure of how far animal ingredients dominate the ingredient panel. It is a label-position index, not a manufacturer-disclosed recipe percentage.

    +2.1 / 5
  • Liver

    Liver is included.

    +2 / 2
  • Heart

    Heart is included.

    +2 / 2
  • Other appropriate organs

    No additional organ meats identified.

    0 / 2
  • Whole egg

    No meaningful egg inclusion.

    0 / 1
  • Named animal or marine fats

    Named animal or marine fat sources: Whitefish.

    +1 / 2
  • Verified animal ingredient proportion

    The manufacturer has not published an animal ingredient percentage. Excluded from the score rather than counted against the product.

    NOT SCORED

Ingredient Quality

15.6 / 20

Every ingredient is classified into a quality tier and weighted by its position on the label, so ingredient number one counts far more than ingredient number fifteen.

  • Position weighted ingredient quality

    20 food ingredients assessed by quality tier with early positions weighted most heavily. 29 fortifying nutrients or preservatives excluded from the average.

    +16.6 / 20
  • Ingredient splitting

    Multiple fractions of the same core ingredient appear: PEA FAMILY (Peas, Pea Fiber).

    -1

Carbohydrate and Plant Load

6.5 / 15
  • Estimated carbohydrate: not calculable
  • Pulse ingredients detected: Peas, Pea Fiber
  • Plant protein concentrates: none
  • Ingredient splitting: PEA FAMILY (Peas, Pea Fiber)

Carbohydrate is not calculable because ash is not disclosed. It is left blank rather than overstated.

  • Carbohydrate burden

    Carbohydrate is not precisely calculable because ash has not been disclosed. This is an evidence limitation, not evidence of high carbohydrate, so it is removed from the score and reported as reduced confidence.

    NOT SCORED
  • Ingredient based plant load

    Plant load assessed as MODERATE. Carbohydrate bearing plant ingredients: Potatoes (starchy vegetable), Peas (whole pulse), Pea Fiber (fibre ingredient), Guar Gum (fibre ingredient), Inulin (fibre ingredient).

    +4 / 8
  • Split plant fractions

    Split plant fractions understate the true plant load in the ingredient order.

    -1

How is it made?

7 / 10

Processing method: Canned. This category measures food integrity only. Raw handling safety is assessed separately under Safety and Quality Control, so a raw food can score well here and still lose safety points.

  • Processing method

    Canned processing. Food integrity only. Raw handling safety is assessed separately under Safety and Quality Control.

    +7 / 10

How transparent is the manufacturer?

4.4 / 10
  • Animal species clearly identified

    Every animal ingredient names its species.

  • Ingredient sourcing disclosed

    Not publicly verified

  • Country or region identified

    Not publicly verified

  • Manufacturing location identified

    Not publicly verified

  • Detailed nutritional analysis

    A detailed nutritional analysis is published.

  • Traceability information

    Not publicly verified

  • Manufacturer provides sourcing detail

    Not publicly verified

  • Overall formulation transparency

    A complete ingredient panel and an identified manufacturer are on file.

Marketing language alone does not count. Anything that has not been published is shown as not publicly verified rather than as a failure.

Nutritional Formulation

7.5 / 10
  • Complete and balanced for the stated life stage

    Formulated to meet AAFCO Dog Food Nutrient Profiles for adult maintenance.

  • Detailed nutritional analysis available

    A full guaranteed analysis with energy content is on file.

  • Qualified formulation expertise

    Not publicly verified

  • Feeding trial or validation

    Not publicly verified

  • Calcium and phosphorus disclosed

    Not publicly verified

Safety and Quality Control

5 / 10
  • Batch testing

    Not publicly verified

  • Pathogen testing

    Not publicly verified

  • Supplier verification

    Supplier or contaminant verification is documented.

  • Lot traceability

    Not publicly verified

  • Nutrient verification

    Finished product nutrient verification is documented.

  • Manufacturing quality program

    A recognised manufacturing quality program is documented (for example HACCP, SQF or CFIA registration).

  • Recall context and corrective action

    No recalls on file.

A recall alone does not destroy a score. Severity, cause, frequency, recency and documented corrective action are all considered.

What we could not verify

Unknown information is not treated as bad information. It is scored as unverified and it lowers the confidence rating instead.

  • Carbohydrate (incomplete guaranteed analysis)
  • Verified animal ingredient percentage
  • Ingredient sourcing evidence
  • Manufacturing location
  • Calcium and phosphorus
  • Country of manufacture
  • Pathogen testing
Submit a correction or supply missing evidence

Where to Buy

Canadian retailers on record. Stock and price vary by store and province.

    Guaranteed Analysis

    As-fed basis
    Protein
    8%
    36% dry matter
    Minimum crude protein as declared on the label.
    Fat
    4.5%
    Minimum crude fat as declared.
    Fibre
    2%
    Maximum crude fibre as declared.
    Moisture
    78%
    Maximum moisture as declared.
    Energy
    1068
    kcal / kg
    Metabolisable energy per kilogram.
    Full source analysis

    Crude Protein (min) 8.0% Crude Fat (min) 4.5% Crude Fiber (max) 2.0% Moisture (max) 78.0% Calorie Content: 416 kcal/can

    Full source ingredient list

    Chicken , Vegetable Broth, Turkey , Chicken Liver, Potatoes, Peas, Whitefish, Green Beans, Pea Fiber, Carrots, Chicken Heart, Broccoli, Red Peppers, Guar Gum, Ground Flaxseed, Natural flavour, Inulin, Potassium Chloride, Salt, Cassia Gum, Xanthan Gum, Choline Chloride, Turmeric, Zinc Proteinate, Iron Proteinate, Yucca Schidigera Extract, Apples, Cranberries, Blueberries, L-Carnitine, Thiamine Mononitrate, Parsley, Oregano, Rosemary, Vitamin E Supplement, Copper Proteinate, Cobalt Proteinate, Manganese Proteinate, Sodium Selenite, Niacin Supplement, D-Calcium Pantothenate, Vitamin A Supplement, Riboflavin Supplement, Biotin, Vitamin B12 Supplement, Potassium Iodide, Pyridoxine Hydrochloride, Vitamin D3 Supplement, Folic Acid.

    Manufacturer feeding instructions

    Adult - 374g (13.2oz) can: feed your dog 1 can per 6.8kg (15lb) of body weight per day. *Feed puppies up to twice the adult amount. Amount of food your dog requires will depend on activity, age, environment and breed. Feed at room temperature and refrigerate unused portion. Always provide access to clean, fresh water.

    View product source

    Formulated to meet AAFCO Dog Food Nutrient Profiles for adult maintenance.

    Certifications & Claims

    Published certifications and manufacturer claims appear with their source where available. A source link documents the claim; it is not independent certification.

    AAFCO nutrient profile statement
    Manufacturer claim

    FeedWise Findings

    The FeedWise Verdict

    6.3/ 10GoodModerate Confidence

    Why it scored this way

    • Complete diet: complete and balanced (aafco)
    • Solid named animal protein base
    • No concentrated plant protein inflating the protein figure
    • Limited publicly verified sourcing information

    Full score breakdown

    Animal Protein Quality17.2 / 25
    Ingredient Quality15.6 / 20
    Carbohydrate and Plant Load6.5 / 15
    Processing and Food Integrity7 / 10
    Transparency and Sourcing4.4 / 10
    Nutritional Formulation7.5 / 10
    Safety and Quality Control5 / 10
    Total63.2 / 100

    FeedWise Score 6.3 · Good · Moderate Confidence

    How FeedWise Scores Dog Food →

    Scored by the FeedWise 100 point model. Read the full methodology.

    Community reviews do not affect the Feed Wise score.

    Owner reviews

    Real experiences from Paw Privileges members. Reviews never affect the Wise score — scoring is based only on label evidence.

    • No reviews yet — be the first.

    Similar Products

    More from Performatrin Ultra