Performatrin Ultra

Grain-Free Chicken Pate Puppy Dog Food

Submit correction or new panel
Wet / Canned

An independent Feed Wise evaluation of Performatrin Ultra Grain-Free Chicken Pate Puppy Dog Food, built from the published ingredient panel, guaranteed analysis, certifications and processing method.

Named chicken first
Named organ meat included
6 named animal proteins
Wet / Canned
Size
13.2 oz, 13.2 oz - 12 pk
Food type
Wet / Canned
UPC
Not recorded
Brand
Performatrin Ultra
Country
Not disclosed
Feed Wise Score
5.4out of 10
FAIR

Complete diet: complete and balanced (aafco)

75%
Confidence
Moderate confidence

Share of scoring criteria backed by published evidence.

Product type
Complete & Balanced Food
Complete & balanced
VERIFIED
Large breed growth
NOT PUBLISHED
Standard named by source
AAFCO

Manufacturer statement: “Formulated to meet AAFCO Dog Food Nutrient Profiles for growth/all life stages as applicable to the formula.” (source: manufacturer product page)

Protein

10%

Fat

5%

Estimated carbohydrate

Not calculable

Processing

Canned

Where to Buy

Expert Summary

Feed Wise rates this below the standard we look for in this category for Performatrin Ultra Grain Free Chicken Pate Puppy Dog Food, a canned wet food formula led by chicken, salmon and turkey. The manufacturer publishes an AAFCO nutritional adequacy statement, so it can be fed as a complete daily diet for growth and puppy feeding. Owners should note that the country of manufacture is not disclosed.

What is actually in this food?

Chicken, Chicken Broth, Chicken Liver & Heart, Pea Protein, Salmon, Turkey, Peas, Potatoes, Carrots, Tricalcium Phosphate, Guar Gum, Salmon Oil, Salt, Dried Egg Products, Choline Chloride, Pea Fiber, Potassium Chloride, Cassia Gum, Xanthan Gum, Inulin, Taurine, Calcium Carbonate, Ginger, Blueberry, Cranberry, Pumpkin, Apple Pomace, Zinc Proteinate, L-Ascorbyl-2-Polyphosphate (Source Of Vitamin C), Vitamin E Supplement, Ferrous Sulfate, Zinc Sulfate, Iron Proteinate, Copper Proteinate, Yucca Schidigera Extract, Thiamine Mononitrate, Vitamin A Supplement, Niacin Supplement, D-Calcium Pantothenate, Manganese Sulfate, Manganese Proteinate, Riboflavin Supplement, Sodium Selenite, Pyridoxine Hydrochloride, Vitamin D3 Supplement, Vitamin B12 Supplement, Calcium Iodate, Folic Acid

First 5 ingredients

1. Chicken

Tier A, exceptional food ingredient

Named Animal Protein

Named animal muscle meat. Highest value protein source in the FeedWise model.

2. Chicken Broth

Tier A, exceptional food ingredient

Named Animal Protein

Named animal muscle meat. Highest value protein source in the FeedWise model.

3. Chicken Liver & Heart

Tier A, exceptional food ingredient

Named Organ Meat

Named liver. Nutrient dense organ meat.

4. Pea Protein

Tier E, major formulation concern

Concentrated Plant Protein

Concentrated plant protein. Raises the crude protein figure without contributing animal protein quality.

5. Salmon

Tier A, exceptional food ingredient

Named Marine Protein

Named fish. Provides high value protein plus marine omega 3 fatty acids.

Animal Protein Quality

17.3 / 25

This is the largest single category in FeedWise. It looks at which animal ingredients are present, whether the species is named, whether organs, egg and named fats are included, and whether concentrated plant proteins are diluting the animal content.

  • Named animal protein first

    Chicken is a named animal ingredient in position 1.

    +8 / 8
  • Animal Prominence Index

    Animal Prominence Index 67 of 100. This is a FeedWise position-weighted measure of how far animal ingredients dominate the ingredient panel. It is a label-position index, not a manufacturer-disclosed recipe percentage.

    +3.2 / 5
  • Liver

    Liver is included.

    +2 / 2
  • Heart

    No heart in the ingredient panel.

    0 / 2
  • Other appropriate organs

    No additional organ meats identified.

    0 / 2
  • Whole egg

    Dried Egg Products is included.

    +1 / 1
  • Named animal or marine fats

    Named animal or marine fat sources: Salmon, Salmon Oil.

    +1 / 2
  • Verified animal ingredient proportion

    The manufacturer has not published an animal ingredient percentage. Excluded from the score rather than counted against the product.

    NOT SCORED
  • Plant protein disclosure

    Concentrated plant protein is present: Pea Protein. The manufacturer does not publish its inclusion level or the animal versus plant share of the crude protein, so the contribution is not quantified. This is deducted once under Ingredient Quality and is not counted again here.

    N/A

Ingredient Quality

12 / 20

Every ingredient is classified into a quality tier and weighted by its position on the label, so ingredient number one counts far more than ingredient number fifteen.

  • Position weighted ingredient quality

    17 food ingredients assessed by quality tier with early positions weighted most heavily. 31 fortifying nutrients or preservatives excluded from the average.

    +16 / 20
  • Ingredient splitting

    Multiple fractions of the same core ingredient appear: PEA FAMILY (Pea Protein, Peas, Pea Fiber).

    -2
  • Concentrated plant protein

    Concentrated plant protein appears at position 4: Pea Protein. Scored once here and not repeated in other categories.

    -2

Carbohydrate and Plant Load

0.6 / 15
  • Estimated carbohydrate: not calculable
  • Pulse ingredients detected: Pea Protein, Peas, Pea Fiber
  • Plant protein concentrates: Pea Protein
  • Ingredient splitting: PEA FAMILY (Pea Protein, Peas, Pea Fiber)

Carbohydrate is not calculable because ash is not disclosed. It is left blank rather than overstated.

  • Carbohydrate burden

    Carbohydrate is not precisely calculable because ash has not been disclosed. This is an evidence limitation, not evidence of high carbohydrate, so it is removed from the score and reported as reduced confidence.

    NOT SCORED
  • Ingredient based plant load

    Plant load assessed as VERY HIGH. Carbohydrate bearing plant ingredients: Pea Protein (concentrated plant protein), Peas (whole pulse), Potatoes (starchy vegetable), Guar Gum (fibre ingredient), Pea Fiber (fibre ingredient), Inulin (fibre ingredient), Apple Pomace (fibre ingredient).

    +1.9 / 8
  • Combined pulse load

    3 pulse ingredients detected at positions 4, 7, 16: Pea Protein, Peas, Pea Fiber. Together these represent a substantial plant contribution.

    -2
  • Pulse protein disclosure

    A concentrated pulse protein is present. Its inclusion level is not published, so no share of the protein figure is asserted. It is deducted once under Ingredient Quality rather than a second time here.

    N/A
  • Split plant fractions

    Split plant fractions understate the true plant load in the ingredient order.

    -1

How is it made?

7 / 10

Processing method: Canned. This category measures food integrity only. Raw handling safety is assessed separately under Safety and Quality Control, so a raw food can score well here and still lose safety points.

  • Processing method

    Canned processing. Food integrity only. Raw handling safety is assessed separately under Safety and Quality Control.

    +7 / 10

How transparent is the manufacturer?

4.4 / 10
  • Animal species clearly identified

    Every animal ingredient names its species.

  • Ingredient sourcing disclosed

    Not publicly verified

  • Country or region identified

    Not publicly verified

  • Manufacturing location identified

    Not publicly verified

  • Detailed nutritional analysis

    A detailed nutritional analysis is published.

  • Traceability information

    Not publicly verified

  • Manufacturer provides sourcing detail

    Not publicly verified

  • Overall formulation transparency

    A complete ingredient panel and an identified manufacturer are on file.

Marketing language alone does not count. Anything that has not been published is shown as not publicly verified rather than as a failure.

Nutritional Formulation

7.5 / 10
  • Complete and balanced for the stated life stage

    Formulated to meet AAFCO Dog Food Nutrient Profiles for growth/all life stages as applicable to the formula.

  • Detailed nutritional analysis available

    A full guaranteed analysis with energy content is on file.

  • Qualified formulation expertise

    Not publicly verified

  • Feeding trial or validation

    Not publicly verified

  • Calcium and phosphorus disclosed

    Not publicly verified

Safety and Quality Control

5 / 10
  • Batch testing

    Not publicly verified

  • Pathogen testing

    Not publicly verified

  • Supplier verification

    Supplier or contaminant verification is documented.

  • Lot traceability

    Not publicly verified

  • Nutrient verification

    Finished product nutrient verification is documented.

  • Manufacturing quality program

    A recognised manufacturing quality program is documented (for example HACCP, SQF or CFIA registration).

  • Recall context and corrective action

    No recalls on file.

A recall alone does not destroy a score. Severity, cause, frequency, recency and documented corrective action are all considered.

What we could not verify

Unknown information is not treated as bad information. It is scored as unverified and it lowers the confidence rating instead.

  • Carbohydrate (incomplete guaranteed analysis)
  • Verified animal ingredient percentage
  • Ingredient sourcing evidence
  • Manufacturing location
  • Calcium and phosphorus
  • Country of manufacture
  • Pathogen testing
Submit a correction or supply missing evidence

Where to Buy

Canadian retailers on record. Stock and price vary by store and province.

    Guaranteed Analysis

    As-fed basis
    Protein
    10%
    45% dry matter
    Minimum crude protein as declared on the label.
    Fat
    5%
    Minimum crude fat as declared.
    Fibre
    1%
    Maximum crude fibre as declared.
    Moisture
    78%
    Maximum moisture as declared.
    Energy
    1087
    kcal / kg
    Metabolisable energy per kilogram.
    Full source analysis

    Crude Protein (Min.) 10.0 % Crude Fat (Min.) 5.0 % Crude Fiber (Max.) 1.0 % Moisture (Max.) 78.0 % Calorie Content: Me (Calculated) 1087 Kcal/Kg 407 Kcal/Can

    Full source ingredient list

    Chicken, Chicken Broth, Chicken Liver & Heart, Pea Protein, Salmon, Turkey, Peas, Potatoes, Carrots, Tricalcium Phosphate, Guar Gum, Salmon Oil, Salt, Dried Egg Products, Choline Chloride, Pea Fiber, Potassium Chloride, Cassia Gum, Xanthan Gum, Inulin, Taurine, Calcium Carbonate, Ginger, Blueberry, Cranberry, Pumpkin, Apple Pomace, Zinc Proteinate, L-Ascorbyl-2-Polyphosphate (Source Of Vitamin C), Vitamin E Supplement, Ferrous Sulfate, Zinc Sulfate, Iron Proteinate, Copper Proteinate, Yucca Schidigera Extract, Thiamine Mononitrate, Vitamin A Supplement, Niacin Supplement, D-Calcium Pantothenate, Manganese Sulfate, Manganese Proteinate, Riboflavin Supplement, Sodium Selenite, Pyridoxine Hydrochloride, Vitamin D3 Supplement, Vitamin B12 Supplement, Calcium Iodate, Folic Acid.

    Manufacturer feeding instructions

    Puppy (up to 11 weeks) - 374g (13.2oz) can: feed as much as your puppy will eat in 3-4 feedings per day. Puppy (11 To 26 Weeks) - 374g (13.2oz) can: feed 3/4 can per 2.26kg (5lb) of body weight per day. Puppy (26 To 52 Weeks) - 374g (13.2oz) can: feed 1/2 can per 2.26kg (5lb) of body weight per day. Gestation/Lactation - 374g (13.2oz) can: feed up to 2 cans per 6.8kg (15lb) of body weight per day. Amount of food your dog requires will depend on activity, age, environment and breed. Feed at room temperature and refrigerate unused portion. Always provide access to clean, fresh water.

    View product source

    Formulated to meet AAFCO Dog Food Nutrient Profiles for growth/all life stages as applicable to the formula.

    Certifications & Claims

    Published certifications and manufacturer claims appear with their source where available. A source link documents the claim; it is not independent certification.

    AAFCO nutrient profile statement
    Manufacturer claim

    FeedWise Findings

    The FeedWise Verdict

    5.4/ 10FairModerate Confidence

    Why it scored this way

    • Complete diet: complete and balanced (aafco)
    • Solid named animal protein base
    • Concentrated plant protein contributes to the stated protein
    • Limited publicly verified sourcing information

    Full score breakdown

    Animal Protein Quality17.3 / 25
    Ingredient Quality12 / 20
    Carbohydrate and Plant Load0.6 / 15
    Processing and Food Integrity7 / 10
    Transparency and Sourcing4.4 / 10
    Nutritional Formulation7.5 / 10
    Safety and Quality Control5 / 10
    Total53.8 / 100

    FeedWise Score 5.4 · Fair · Moderate Confidence

    How FeedWise Scores Dog Food →

    Scored by the FeedWise 100 point model. Read the full methodology.

    Community reviews do not affect the Feed Wise score.

    Owner reviews

    Real experiences from Paw Privileges members. Reviews never affect the Wise score — scoring is based only on label evidence.

    • No reviews yet — be the first.

    Similar Products

    More from Performatrin Ultra