Paw Privileges
Performatrin Ultra

Performatrin Ultra Limited Ingredient Duck & Pea Pate Adult Dog Food

Submit correction or new panel
Wet / Canned

An independent Feed Wise evaluation of Performatrin Ultra Performatrin Ultra Limited Ingredient Duck & Pea Pate Adult Dog Food, built from the published ingredient panel, guaranteed analysis, certifications and processing method.

Named duck first
Wet / Canned
Manufactured in Canada
Size
Not recorded
Food type
Wet / Canned
UPC
Not recorded
Brand
Performatrin Ultra
Country
Canada
Feed Wise Score
4.3out of 10
BELOW AVERAGE

Intended use is not published by the manufacturer, so this is not presented as a complete diet

72%
Confidence
Moderate confidence

Share of scoring criteria backed by published evidence.

Product type
Other
Complete & balanced
NOT PUBLISHED
Large breed growth
NOT APPLICABLE
Standard named by source
NOT PUBLISHED

This product is scored against its stated purpose. It is not measured as a complete diet, and it is not penalised for being something it never claimed to be.

Protein

8%

Fat

8%

Estimated carbohydrate

Not calculable

Processing

Canned

Where to Buy

Expert Summary

Feed Wise rates this below the standard we look for in this category for Performatrin Ultra Limited Ingredient Duck & Pea Pate Adult Dog Food, a canned wet food formula led by duck and duck broth. No nutritional adequacy statement is on record, so it is best used as part of a balanced feeding plan or rotation rather than as the sole diet. Supporting the rating, it is manufactured in Canada and the label declares 8% crude protein.

What is actually in this food?

Duck, Duck Broth, Pea Protein, Canola Oil, Peas, Guar Gum, Potassium Chloride, Salt, Choline Chloride, Cassia Gum, Xanthan Gum, Dicalcium Carbonate, Pea Fiber, Calcium Carbonate, Zinc Proteinate, L-Ascorbyl-2-Polyphosphate (Source Of Vitamin C), Vitamin E Supplement, Ferrous Sulfate, Zinc Sulfate, Iron Proteinate, Copper Proteinate, Thiamine Mononitrate, Vitamin A Supplement, Niacin Supplement, D-Calcium Pantothenate, Manganese Sulfate, Manganese Proteinate, Riboflavin Supplement, Sodium Selenite, Pyridoxine Hydrochloride, Vitamin D3 Supplement, Vitamin B12, Calcium Iodate, Folic Acid

First 5 ingredients

1. Duck

Tier A, exceptional food ingredient

Named Animal Protein

Named animal muscle meat. Highest value protein source in the FeedWise model.

2. Duck Broth

Tier A, exceptional food ingredient

Animal Protein, Species Not Specified

Animal derived broth contributing moisture and collagen.

3. Pea Protein

Tier E, major formulation concern

Concentrated Plant Protein

Concentrated plant protein. Raises the crude protein figure without contributing animal protein quality.

4. Canola Oil

Tier C, moderate or neutral ingredient

Canola Oil

Plant oil contributing fat and omega 6 fatty acids. It does not supply marine omega 3.

5. Peas

Tier C, moderate or neutral ingredient

Whole Carbohydrate

Whole pea. A pulse carbohydrate and plant protein source.

Animal Protein Quality

10.3 / 25

This is the largest single category in FeedWise. It looks at which animal ingredients are present, whether the species is named, whether organs, egg and named fats are included, and whether concentrated plant proteins are diluting the animal content.

  • Named animal protein first

    Duck is a named animal ingredient in position 1.

    +8 / 8
  • Animal Prominence Index

    Animal Prominence Index 39 of 100. This is a FeedWise position-weighted measure of how far animal ingredients dominate the ingredient panel. It is a label-position index, not a manufacturer-disclosed recipe percentage.

    +1.1 / 5
  • Liver

    No liver in the ingredient panel.

    0 / 2
  • Heart

    No heart in the ingredient panel.

    0 / 2
  • Other appropriate organs

    No additional organ meats identified.

    0 / 2
  • Whole egg

    No meaningful egg inclusion.

    0 / 1
  • Named animal or marine fats

    No named animal or marine fat identified.

    0 / 2
  • Verified animal ingredient proportion

    The manufacturer has not published an animal ingredient percentage. Excluded from the score rather than counted against the product.

    NOT SCORED
  • Plant protein disclosure

    Concentrated plant protein is present: Pea Protein. The manufacturer does not publish its inclusion level or the animal versus plant share of the crude protein, so the contribution is not quantified. This is deducted once under Ingredient Quality and is not counted again here.

    N/A

Ingredient Quality

5 / 20

Every ingredient is classified into a quality tier and weighted by its position on the label, so ingredient number one counts far more than ingredient number fifteen.

  • Position weighted ingredient quality

    6 food ingredients assessed by quality tier with early positions weighted most heavily. 28 fortifying nutrients or preservatives excluded from the average.

    +13 / 20
  • Vague animal ingredients

    Animal ingredients without an identified species: Duck Broth.

    -3
  • Ingredient splitting

    Multiple fractions of the same core ingredient appear: PEA FAMILY (Pea Protein, Peas, Pea Fiber).

    -2
  • Concentrated plant protein

    Concentrated plant protein appears at position 3: Pea Protein. Scored once here and not repeated in other categories.

    -3

Carbohydrate and Plant Load

0.9 / 15
  • Estimated carbohydrate: not calculable
  • Pulse ingredients detected: Pea Protein, Peas, Pea Fiber
  • Plant protein concentrates: Pea Protein
  • Ingredient splitting: PEA FAMILY (Pea Protein, Peas, Pea Fiber)

Carbohydrate is not calculable because ash is not disclosed. It is left blank rather than overstated.

  • Carbohydrate burden

    Carbohydrate is not precisely calculable because ash has not been disclosed. This is an evidence limitation, not evidence of high carbohydrate, so it is removed from the score and reported as reduced confidence.

    NOT SCORED
  • Ingredient based plant load

    Plant load assessed as HIGH. Carbohydrate bearing plant ingredients: Pea Protein (concentrated plant protein), Peas (whole pulse), Guar Gum (fibre ingredient), Pea Fiber (fibre ingredient).

    +2.1 / 8
  • Combined pulse load

    3 pulse ingredients detected at positions 3, 5, 13: Pea Protein, Peas, Pea Fiber. Together these represent a substantial plant contribution.

    -2
  • Pulse protein disclosure

    A concentrated pulse protein is present. Its inclusion level is not published, so no share of the protein figure is asserted. It is deducted once under Ingredient Quality rather than a second time here.

    N/A
  • Split plant fractions

    Split plant fractions understate the true plant load in the ingredient order.

    -1

How is it made?

7 / 10

Processing method: Canned. This category measures food integrity only. Raw handling safety is assessed separately under Safety and Quality Control, so a raw food can score well here and still lose safety points.

  • Processing method

    Canned processing. Food integrity only. Raw handling safety is assessed separately under Safety and Quality Control.

    +7 / 10

How transparent is the manufacturer?

6 / 10
  • Animal species clearly identified

    Not publicly verified

  • Ingredient sourcing disclosed

    Not publicly verified

  • Country or region identified

    Country or region of origin published: Canada.

  • Manufacturing location identified

    Not publicly verified

  • Detailed nutritional analysis

    A detailed nutritional analysis is published.

  • Traceability information

    Not publicly verified

  • Manufacturer provides sourcing detail

    Not publicly verified

  • Overall formulation transparency

    A complete ingredient panel and an identified manufacturer are on file.

Marketing language alone does not count. Anything that has not been published is shown as not publicly verified rather than as a failure.

Nutritional Formulation

10 / 10
  • Complete and balanced for the stated life stage

    Not publicly verified

  • Feeding trial or validation

    Not publicly verified

  • Intended use clearly stated

    Not publicly verified

  • Guaranteed analysis published

    A guaranteed analysis is published for this formula.

  • Calcium and phosphorus disclosed

    Not publicly verified

  • Feeding guidance for supplemental use

    Not publicly verified

Safety and Quality Control

3.3 / 10
  • Batch testing

    Not publicly verified

  • Pathogen testing

    Not publicly verified

  • Supplier verification

    Not publicly verified

  • Lot traceability

    Not publicly verified

  • Nutrient verification

    Not publicly verified

  • Manufacturing quality program

    Not publicly verified

  • Recall context and corrective action

    No recalls on file.

A recall alone does not destroy a score. Severity, cause, frequency, recency and documented corrective action are all considered.

What we could not verify

Unknown information is not treated as bad information. It is scored as unverified and it lowers the confidence rating instead.

  • Carbohydrate (incomplete guaranteed analysis)
  • Verified animal ingredient percentage
  • Ingredient sourcing evidence
  • Manufacturing location
  • Quality control and testing evidence
  • Calcium and phosphorus
Submit a correction or supply missing evidence

Where to Buy

Canadian retailers on record. Stock and price vary by store and province.

    Guaranteed Analysis

    As-fed basis
    Protein
    8%
    36% dry matter
    Minimum crude protein as declared on the label.
    Fat
    8%
    Minimum crude fat as declared.
    Fibre
    1%
    Maximum crude fibre as declared.
    Moisture
    78%
    Maximum moisture as declared.
    Energy
    1191
    kcal / kg
    Metabolisable energy per kilogram.

    Certifications & Claims

    Only certifications we can confirm from the brand's own documentation or the certifying body appear here. Nothing is assumed — if a program isn't listed, it isn't disclosed for this product.

    Made in Canada
    Manufacturer claim

    FeedWise Findings

    The FeedWise Verdict

    4.3/ 10Below AverageModerate Confidence

    Why it scored this way

    • Intended use is not published by the manufacturer, so this is not presented as a complete diet
    • Limited animal protein contribution relative to the plant content
    • Concentrated plant protein contributes to the stated protein
    • Limited publicly verified sourcing information

    Full score breakdown

    Animal Protein Quality10.3 / 25
    Ingredient Quality5 / 20
    Carbohydrate and Plant Load0.9 / 15
    Processing and Food Integrity7 / 10
    Transparency and Sourcing6 / 10
    Nutritional Formulation10 / 10
    Safety and Quality Control3.3 / 10
    Total42.5 / 100

    FeedWise Score 4.3 · Below Average · Moderate Confidence

    How FeedWise Scores Dog Food →

    Scored by the FeedWise 100 point model. Read the full methodology.

    Community reviews do not affect the Feed Wise score.

    Owner reviews

    Real experiences from Paw Privileges members. Reviews never affect the Wise score — scoring is based only on label evidence.

    • No reviews yet — be the first.

    Similar Products

    More from Performatrin Ultra