Paw Privileges
Orijen

ORIJEN FreshPrey Beef, Pork & Lamb Recipe Multipack 7x16OZ

Submit correction or new panel
Gently Cooked

An independent Feed Wise evaluation of Orijen ORIJEN FreshPrey Beef, Pork & Lamb Recipe Multipack 7x16OZ, built from the published ingredient panel, guaranteed analysis, certifications and processing method.

Named beef first
Named organ meat included
4 named animal proteins
Whole ground bone (calcium source)
Size
Not recorded
Food type
Gently Cooked
UPC
Not recorded
Brand
Orijen
Country
Not disclosed
Feed Wise Score
5.9out of 10
FAIR

Complete diet: complete and balanced (aafco)

76%
Confidence
High confidence

Share of scoring criteria backed by published evidence.

Product type
Complete & Balanced Food
Complete & balanced
VERIFIED
Large breed growth
NOT APPLICABLE
Standard named by source
AAFCO

Protein

14%

Fat

8%

Estimated carbohydrate

Not calculable

Processing

Gently Cooked

Where to Buy

Expert Summary

Feed Wise considers this a workable everyday option for ORIJEN FreshPrey Beef, Pork & Lamb Recipe Multipack 7x16OZ, a gently cooked formula led by beef, pork and lamb. The manufacturer publishes a AAFCO nutritional adequacy statement, so it can be fed as a complete daily diet for adult maintenance. Owners should note that the country of manufacture is not disclosed.

What is actually in this food?

Beef, pork, ground beef bone, beef liver, lamb, beef bone broth, carrots, kale, sweet potato, bell pepper, cranberry, salmon oil, calcium carbonate, tricalcium phosphate, vinegar, citric acid (preservative), potassium chloride, choline bitartrate, magnesium phosphate, dried kelp, inulin, turmeric, salt, vitamin D3 supplement, mixed tocopherols (preservative), vitamin E supplement, niacinamide, thiamine mononitrate, zinc proteinate, riboflavin, calcium pantothenate, pyridoxine hydrochloride, folic acid, copper proteinate, manganese proteinate, selenium yeast, vitamin B12 supplement, clove leaf oil, rosemary extract

First 5 ingredients

1. Beef

Tier A, exceptional food ingredient

Named Animal Protein

Named animal muscle meat. Highest value protein source in the FeedWise model.

2. pork

Tier A, exceptional food ingredient

Named Animal Protein

Named animal muscle meat. Highest value protein source in the FeedWise model.

3. ground beef bone

Tier A, exceptional food ingredient

Raw Meaty Bone

Named raw meaty bone. Supplies natural calcium and phosphorus in the correct ratio. It is an animal ingredient, not a filler or a plant mineral supplement.

4. beef liver

Tier A, exceptional food ingredient

Named Organ Meat

Named liver. Nutrient dense organ meat.

5. lamb

Tier A, exceptional food ingredient

Named Animal Protein

Named animal muscle meat. Highest value protein source in the FeedWise model.

Animal Protein Quality

18.6 / 25

This is the largest single category in FeedWise. It looks at which animal ingredients are present, whether the species is named, whether organs, egg and named fats are included, and whether concentrated plant proteins are diluting the animal content.

  • Named animal protein first

    Beef is a named animal ingredient in position 1.

    +8 / 8
  • Animal Prominence Index

    Animal Prominence Index 78 of 100. This is a FeedWise position-weighted measure of how far animal ingredients dominate the ingredient panel. It is a label-position index, not a manufacturer-disclosed recipe percentage.

    +4.1 / 5
  • Liver

    Liver is included.

    +2 / 2
  • Heart

    No heart in the ingredient panel.

    0 / 2
  • Other appropriate organs

    No additional organ meats identified.

    0 / 2
  • Whole egg

    No meaningful egg inclusion.

    0 / 1
  • Named animal or marine fats

    Named animal or marine fat sources: salmon oil, salmon oil.

    +2 / 2
  • Verified animal ingredient proportion

    Manufacturer confirms 85 percent animal ingredients.

    +2.5 / 3

Ingredient Quality

16.3 / 20

Every ingredient is classified into a quality tier and weighted by its position on the label, so ingredient number one counts far more than ingredient number fifteen.

  • Position weighted ingredient quality

    15 food ingredients assessed by quality tier with early positions weighted most heavily. 24 fortifying nutrients or preservatives excluded from the average.

    +18.3 / 20
  • Vague animal ingredients

    Animal ingredients without an identified species: beef bone broth.

    -2

Carbohydrate and Plant Load

6.8 / 15
  • Estimated carbohydrate: not calculable
  • Pulse ingredients detected: none
  • Plant protein concentrates: none
  • Ingredient splitting: not detected

Carbohydrate is not calculable because ash is not disclosed. It is left blank rather than overstated.

  • Carbohydrate burden

    Carbohydrate is not precisely calculable because ash has not been disclosed. This is an evidence limitation, not evidence of high carbohydrate, so it is removed from the score and reported as reduced confidence.

    NOT SCORED
  • Ingredient based plant load

    Plant load assessed as LOW. Carbohydrate bearing plant ingredients: sweet potato (starchy vegetable), inulin (fibre ingredient).

    +6.9 / 8

How is it made?

8 / 10

Processing method: Gently Cooked. This category measures food integrity only. Raw handling safety is assessed separately under Safety and Quality Control, so a raw food can score well here and still lose safety points.

  • Processing method

    Gently Cooked processing. Food integrity only. Raw handling safety is assessed separately under Safety and Quality Control.

    +8 / 10

How transparent is the manufacturer?

2 / 10
  • Animal species clearly identified

    Not publicly verified

  • Ingredient sourcing disclosed

    Not publicly verified

  • Country or region identified

    Not publicly verified

  • Manufacturing location identified

    Not publicly verified

  • Detailed nutritional analysis

    A detailed nutritional analysis is published.

  • Traceability information

    Not publicly verified

  • Manufacturer provides sourcing detail

    Not publicly verified

  • Overall formulation transparency

    A complete ingredient panel and an identified manufacturer are on file.

Marketing language alone does not count. Anything that has not been published is shown as not publicly verified rather than as a failure.

Nutritional Formulation

6 / 10
  • Complete and balanced for the stated life stage

    ORIJEN FRESHPREY Beef, Pork & Lamb Recipe Complete Adult Dog Food is formulated to meet the nutritional levels established by the AAFCO Dog Food Nutrient Profiles for maintenance.

  • Detailed nutritional analysis available

    A full guaranteed analysis with energy content is on file.

  • Qualified formulation expertise

    Not publicly verified

  • Feeding trial or validation

    Not publicly verified

  • Calcium and phosphorus disclosed

    Not publicly verified

Safety and Quality Control

1 / 10
  • Batch testing

    Not publicly verified

  • Pathogen testing

    Not publicly verified

  • Supplier verification

    Not publicly verified

  • Lot traceability

    Not publicly verified

  • Nutrient verification

    Not publicly verified

  • Manufacturing quality program

    Not publicly verified

  • Recall context and corrective action

    No recalls on file.

A recall alone does not destroy a score. Severity, cause, frequency, recency and documented corrective action are all considered.

What we could not verify

Unknown information is not treated as bad information. It is scored as unverified and it lowers the confidence rating instead.

  • Carbohydrate (incomplete guaranteed analysis)
  • Ingredient sourcing evidence
  • Manufacturing location
  • Quality control and testing evidence
  • Calcium and phosphorus
Submit a correction or supply missing evidence

Where to Buy

Canadian retailers on record. Stock and price vary by store and province.

    Guaranteed Analysis

    As-fed basis
    Protein
    14%
    56% dry matter
    Minimum crude protein as declared on the label.
    Fat
    8%
    Minimum crude fat as declared.
    Fibre
    4.5%
    Maximum crude fibre as declared.
    Moisture
    75%
    Maximum moisture as declared.
    Energy
    1690
    kcal / kg
    Metabolisable energy per kilogram.

    ORIJEN FRESHPREY Beef, Pork & Lamb Recipe Complete Adult Dog Food is formulated to meet the nutritional levels established by the AAFCO Dog Food Nutrient Profiles for maintenance.

    Certifications & Claims

    Only certifications we can confirm from the brand's own documentation or the certifying body appear here. Nothing is assumed — if a program isn't listed, it isn't disclosed for this product.

    AAFCO nutrient profile statement
    Manufacturer claim

    FeedWise Findings

    The FeedWise Verdict

    5.9/ 10FairHigh Confidence

    Why it scored this way

    • Complete diet: complete and balanced (aafco)
    • Solid named animal protein base
    • No concentrated plant protein inflating the protein figure
    • Limited publicly verified sourcing information
    • Strong whole food formulation

    Full score breakdown

    Animal Protein Quality18.6 / 25
    Ingredient Quality16.3 / 20
    Carbohydrate and Plant Load6.8 / 15
    Processing and Food Integrity8 / 10
    Transparency and Sourcing2 / 10
    Nutritional Formulation6 / 10
    Safety and Quality Control1 / 10
    Total58.7 / 100

    FeedWise Score 5.9 · Fair · High Confidence

    How FeedWise Scores Dog Food →

    Scored by the FeedWise 100 point model. Read the full methodology.

    Community reviews do not affect the Feed Wise score.

    Owner reviews

    Real experiences from Paw Privileges members. Reviews never affect the Wise score — scoring is based only on label evidence.

    • No reviews yet — be the first.

    Similar Products

    More from Orijen