Paw Privileges
Nutrience

Nutrience Care Hypoallergenic Dog Food

Submit correction or new panel
Kibble

An independent Feed Wise evaluation of Nutrience Nutrience Care Hypoallergenic Dog Food, built from the published ingredient panel, guaranteed analysis, certifications and processing method.

Named salmon first
Kibble
Complete and balanced (verified)
Manufactured in Canada
Size
Not recorded
Food type
Kibble
UPC
Not recorded
Brand
Nutrience
Country
Canada
Feed Wise Score
4.9out of 10
BELOW AVERAGE

Complete diet: complete and balanced (aafco)

74%
Confidence
Moderate confidence

Share of scoring criteria backed by published evidence.

Product type
Complete & Balanced Food
Complete & balanced
VERIFIED
Large breed growth
NOT PUBLISHED
Standard named by source
AAFCO

Protein

30%

Fat

12%

Estimated carbohydrate

Not calculable

Processing

Extruded

Where to Buy

Expert Summary

Feed Wise rates this below the standard we look for in this category for Nutrience Care Hypoallergenic Dog Food, a dry kibble formula led by salmon and hydrolyzed fish protein concentrate. The manufacturer publishes a AAFCO nutritional adequacy statement, so it can be fed as a complete daily diet for senior maintenance. Supporting the rating, it is manufactured in Canada and the label declares 30% crude protein.

What is actually in this food?

Salmon, chickpeas, hydrolyzed fish protein concentrate, sweet potatoes, peas, potato protein, lentils, canola oil, pumpkin, monocalcium phosphate, ground Miscanthus grass, calcium carbonate, tapioca, coconut oil, salt, natural flavour, pea protein, botanicals (ginger root, turmeric, carrot, broccoli, apple, cranberry, blueberry, butternut squash, spinach, licorice root, pomegranate, peppermint leaf), potassium chloride, minerals (zinc proteinate, iron proteinate, manganese proteinate, copper proteinate, sodium selenite, calcium iodate), flaxseed, salmon oil, DL-methionine, L-threonine, L-tryptophan, sunflower lecithin, choline chloride, yeast extract, taurine, calcium propionate (preservative), L-tyrosine, sunflower oil, dried chicory root, L-carnitine, Yucca schidigera extract, dried Bacillus licheniformis fermentation product, dried Bacillus subtilis fermentation product, rosemary extract, preserved with mixed tocopherols and citric acid

First 5 ingredients

1. Salmon

Tier A, exceptional food ingredient

Named Marine Protein

Named fish. Provides high value protein plus marine omega 3 fatty acids.

2. chickpeas

Tier C, moderate or neutral ingredient

Whole Carbohydrate

Whole chickpea. A pulse carbohydrate and plant protein source.

3. hydrolyzed fish protein concentrate

Tier B, high quality supportive ingredient

Animal Protein, Species Not Specified

A whole fish ingredient provides animal protein and marine nutrients, but the manufacturer does not identify the fish species, which lowers sourcing transparency.

4. sweet potatoes

Tier C, moderate or neutral ingredient

Whole Carbohydrate

Whole carbohydrate source. Evaluated on position, quantity and combined plant load rather than treated as automatically poor.

5. peas

Tier C, moderate or neutral ingredient

Whole Carbohydrate

Whole pea. A pulse carbohydrate and plant protein source.

Animal Protein Quality

11.5 / 25

This is the largest single category in FeedWise. It looks at which animal ingredients are present, whether the species is named, whether organs, egg and named fats are included, and whether concentrated plant proteins are diluting the animal content.

  • Named animal protein first

    Salmon is a named animal ingredient in position 1.

    +8 / 8
  • Animal Prominence Index

    Animal Prominence Index 26 of 100. This is a FeedWise position-weighted measure of how far animal ingredients dominate the ingredient panel. It is a label-position index, not a manufacturer-disclosed recipe percentage.

    +0.1 / 5
  • Liver

    No liver in the ingredient panel.

    0 / 2
  • Heart

    No heart in the ingredient panel.

    0 / 2
  • Other appropriate organs

    No additional organ meats identified.

    0 / 2
  • Whole egg

    No meaningful egg inclusion.

    0 / 1
  • Named animal or marine fats

    Named animal or marine fat sources: salmon oil, Salmon, hydrolyzed fish protein concentrate, salmon oil.

    +2 / 2
  • Verified animal ingredient proportion

    The manufacturer has not published an animal ingredient percentage. Excluded from the score rather than counted against the product.

    NOT SCORED
  • Plant protein disclosure

    Concentrated plant protein is present: potato protein, pea protein. The manufacturer does not publish its inclusion level or the animal versus plant share of the crude protein, so the contribution is not quantified. This is deducted once under Ingredient Quality and is not counted again here.

    N/A

Ingredient Quality

6.7 / 20

Every ingredient is classified into a quality tier and weighted by its position on the label, so ingredient number one counts far more than ingredient number fifteen.

  • Position weighted ingredient quality

    16 food ingredients assessed by quality tier with early positions weighted most heavily. 23 fortifying nutrients or preservatives excluded from the average.

    +12.7 / 20
  • Vague animal ingredients

    Animal ingredients without an identified species: hydrolyzed fish protein concentrate.

    -3
  • Ingredient splitting

    Multiple fractions of the same core ingredient appear: POTATO FAMILY (sweet potatoes, potato protein); PEA FAMILY (peas, pea protein); SUNFLOWER FAMILY (sunflower lecithin, sunflower oil).

    -1
  • Concentrated plant proteins

    Concentrated plant protein appears at position 6: potato protein, pea protein. Scored once here and not repeated in other categories.

    -2

Carbohydrate and Plant Load

0 / 15
  • Estimated carbohydrate: not calculable
  • Pulse ingredients detected: chickpeas, peas, lentils, pea protein
  • Plant protein concentrates: potato protein, pea protein
  • Ingredient splitting: POTATO FAMILY (sweet potatoes, potato protein); PEA FAMILY (peas, pea protein); SUNFLOWER FAMILY (sunflower lecithin, sunflower oil)

Carbohydrate is not calculable because ash is not disclosed. It is left blank rather than overstated.

  • Carbohydrate burden

    Carbohydrate is not precisely calculable because ash has not been disclosed. This is an evidence limitation, not evidence of high carbohydrate, so it is removed from the score and reported as reduced confidence.

    NOT SCORED
  • Ingredient based plant load

    Plant load assessed as VERY HIGH. Carbohydrate bearing plant ingredients: chickpeas (whole pulse), sweet potatoes (starchy vegetable), peas (whole pulse), potato protein (concentrated plant protein), lentils (whole pulse), ground Miscanthus grass (fibre ingredient), tapioca (refined starch), pea protein (concentrated plant protein), dried chicory root (fibre ingredient).

    0 / 8
  • Combined pulse load

    4 pulse ingredients detected at positions 2, 5, 7, 17: chickpeas, peas, lentils, pea protein. Together these represent a substantial plant contribution.

    -2
  • Pulse protein disclosure

    A concentrated pulse protein is present. Its inclusion level is not published, so no share of the protein figure is asserted. It is deducted once under Ingredient Quality rather than a second time here.

    N/A
  • Split plant fractions

    Split plant fractions understate the true plant load in the ingredient order.

    -1

How is it made?

5 / 10

Processing method: Extruded. This category measures food integrity only. Raw handling safety is assessed separately under Safety and Quality Control, so a raw food can score well here and still lose safety points.

  • Processing method

    Extruded processing. Food integrity only. Raw handling safety is assessed separately under Safety and Quality Control.

    +5 / 10

How transparent is the manufacturer?

6 / 10
  • Animal species clearly identified

    Not publicly verified

  • Ingredient sourcing disclosed

    Not publicly verified

  • Country or region identified

    Country or region of origin published: Canada.

  • Manufacturing location identified

    Not publicly verified

  • Detailed nutritional analysis

    A detailed nutritional analysis is published.

  • Traceability information

    Not publicly verified

  • Manufacturer provides sourcing detail

    Not publicly verified

  • Overall formulation transparency

    A complete ingredient panel and an identified manufacturer are on file.

Marketing language alone does not count. Anything that has not been published is shown as not publicly verified rather than as a failure.

Nutritional Formulation

10 / 10
  • Complete and balanced for the stated life stage

    Nutrience Care® Sensitive Skin & Stomach is formulated to meet the nutritional levels established by the AAFCO Dog Food Nutrient Profiles for maintenance.

  • Detailed nutritional analysis available

    A full guaranteed analysis with energy content is on file.

  • Qualified formulation expertise

    Not publicly verified

  • Feeding trial or validation

    Not publicly verified

  • Calcium and phosphorus disclosed

    Not publicly verified

Safety and Quality Control

10 / 10
  • Batch testing

    Not publicly verified

  • Pathogen testing

    Not publicly verified

  • Supplier verification

    Not publicly verified

  • Lot traceability

    Not publicly verified

  • Nutrient verification

    Not publicly verified

  • Manufacturing quality program

    A recognised manufacturing quality program is documented (for example HACCP, SQF or CFIA registration).

  • Recall context and corrective action

    No recalls on file.

A recall alone does not destroy a score. Severity, cause, frequency, recency and documented corrective action are all considered.

What we could not verify

Unknown information is not treated as bad information. It is scored as unverified and it lowers the confidence rating instead.

  • Carbohydrate (incomplete guaranteed analysis)
  • Verified animal ingredient percentage
  • Ingredient sourcing evidence
  • Manufacturing location
  • Quality control and testing evidence
  • Calcium and phosphorus
Submit a correction or supply missing evidence

Where to Buy

Canadian retailers on record. Stock and price vary by store and province.

    Guaranteed Analysis

    As-fed basis
    Protein
    30%
    33% dry matter
    Minimum crude protein as declared on the label.
    Fat
    12%
    Minimum crude fat as declared.
    Fibre
    5.5%
    Maximum crude fibre as declared.
    Moisture
    10%
    Maximum moisture as declared.
    Energy
    3475
    kcal / kg
    Metabolisable energy per kilogram.
    Energy per cup
    394
    kcal / 8 oz cup
    Calories per standard 8 oz measuring cup as published by the manufacturer.

    Nutrience Care® Sensitive Skin & Stomach is formulated to meet the nutritional levels established by the AAFCO Dog Food Nutrient Profiles for maintenance.

    Certifications & Claims

    Only certifications we can confirm from the brand's own documentation or the certifying body appear here. Nothing is assumed — if a program isn't listed, it isn't disclosed for this product.

    AAFCO nutrient profile statement
    Manufacturer claim
    CFIA registered facility
    Manufacturer claim
    Made in Canada
    Manufacturer claim

    FeedWise Findings

    The FeedWise Verdict

    4.9/ 10Below AverageModerate Confidence

    Why it scored this way

    • Complete diet: complete and balanced (aafco)
    • Limited animal protein contribution relative to the plant content
    • Concentrated plant protein contributes to the stated protein
    • Limited publicly verified sourcing information

    Full score breakdown

    Animal Protein Quality11.5 / 25
    Ingredient Quality6.7 / 20
    Carbohydrate and Plant Load0 / 15
    Processing and Food Integrity5 / 10
    Transparency and Sourcing6 / 10
    Nutritional Formulation10 / 10
    Safety and Quality Control10 / 10
    Total49.2 / 100

    FeedWise Score 4.9 · Below Average · Moderate Confidence

    How FeedWise Scores Dog Food →

    Scored by the FeedWise 100 point model. Read the full methodology.

    Community reviews do not affect the Feed Wise score.

    Owner reviews

    Real experiences from Paw Privileges members. Reviews never affect the Wise score — scoring is based only on label evidence.

    • No reviews yet — be the first.

    Similar Products

    More from Nutrience