Paw Privileges
Honest Kitchen

Grain Free Chicken Protein Plus Clusters

Submit correction or new panel
Kibble

An independent Feed Wise evaluation of Honest Kitchen Grain Free Chicken Protein Plus Clusters, built from the published ingredient panel, guaranteed analysis, certifications and processing method.

Named chicken first
Named organ meat included
3 named animal proteins
Kibble
Size
1.81 kg
Food type
Kibble
UPC
Not recorded
Brand
Honest Kitchen
Country
United States
Feed Wise Score
6.0out of 10
GOOD

Complete diet: not published

70%
Confidence
Moderate confidence

Share of scoring criteria backed by published evidence.

Product type
Complete & Balanced Food
Complete & balanced
NOT PUBLISHED
Large breed growth
NOT APPLICABLE
Standard named by source
NOT PUBLISHED

This product is scored against its stated purpose. It is not measured as a complete diet, and it is not penalised for being something it never claimed to be.

Protein

32%

Fat

17%

Estimated carbohydrate

Not calculable

Processing

Extruded

Where to Buy

Expert Summary

Feed Wise considers this a workable everyday option for Honest Kitchen Grain Free Chicken Protein Plus Clusters, a dry kibble formula led by chicken. No nutritional adequacy statement is on record, so it is best used as part of a balanced feeding plan or rotation rather than as the sole diet. Owners should note that portions shown here are calculated from the calorie panel rather than a published chart.

What is actually in this food?

Chicken, peas, potatoes, chicken liver, flaxseed, lentils, pea protein, dicalcium phosphate, natural chicken flavor, salt, pumpkin, dried kelp, taurine, minerals [iron amino acid chelate, copper amino acid chelate, manganese amino acid chelate, zinc amino acid chelate, sodium selenite], choline chloride, mixed tocopherols, dried bacillus coagulans fermentation product, rosemary extract

First 5 ingredients

1. Chicken

Tier A, exceptional food ingredient

Named Animal Protein

Named animal muscle meat. Highest value protein source in the FeedWise model.

2. peas

Tier C, moderate or neutral ingredient

Whole Carbohydrate

Whole pea. A pulse carbohydrate and plant protein source.

3. potatoes

Tier C, moderate or neutral ingredient

Whole Carbohydrate

Whole carbohydrate source. Evaluated on position, quantity and combined plant load rather than treated as automatically poor.

4. chicken liver

Tier A, exceptional food ingredient

Named Organ Meat

Named liver. Nutrient dense organ meat.

5. flaxseed

Tier B, high quality supportive ingredient

Whole Food Plant

Whole food plant ingredient contributing fibre, antioxidants and micronutrients.

Animal Protein Quality

13 / 25

This is the largest single category in FeedWise. It looks at which animal ingredients are present, whether the species is named, whether organs, egg and named fats are included, and whether concentrated plant proteins are diluting the animal content.

  • Named animal protein first

    Chicken is a named animal ingredient in position 1.

    +8 / 8
  • Animal Prominence Index

    Animal Prominence Index 43 of 100. This is a FeedWise position-weighted measure of how far animal ingredients dominate the ingredient panel. It is a label-position index, not a manufacturer-disclosed recipe percentage.

    +1.4 / 5
  • Liver

    Liver is included.

    +2 / 2
  • Heart

    No heart in the ingredient panel.

    0 / 2
  • Other appropriate organs

    No additional organ meats identified.

    0 / 2
  • Whole egg

    No meaningful egg inclusion.

    0 / 1
  • Named animal or marine fats

    No named animal or marine fat identified.

    0 / 2
  • Verified animal ingredient proportion

    The manufacturer has not published an animal ingredient percentage. Excluded from the score rather than counted against the product.

    NOT SCORED
  • Plant protein disclosure

    Concentrated plant protein is present: pea protein. The manufacturer does not publish its inclusion level or the animal versus plant share of the crude protein, so the contribution is not quantified. This is deducted once under Ingredient Quality and is not counted again here.

    N/A

Ingredient Quality

11.9 / 20

Every ingredient is classified into a quality tier and weighted by its position on the label, so ingredient number one counts far more than ingredient number fifteen.

  • Position weighted ingredient quality

    10 food ingredients assessed by quality tier with early positions weighted most heavily. 8 fortifying nutrients or preservatives excluded from the average.

    +14.9 / 20
  • Ingredient splitting

    Multiple fractions of the same core ingredient appear: PEA FAMILY (peas, pea protein).

    -1
  • Concentrated plant protein

    Concentrated plant protein appears at position 7: pea protein. Scored once here and not repeated in other categories.

    -2

Carbohydrate and Plant Load

0 / 15
  • Estimated carbohydrate: not calculable
  • Pulse ingredients detected: peas, lentils, pea protein
  • Plant protein concentrates: pea protein
  • Ingredient splitting: PEA FAMILY (peas, pea protein)

Carbohydrate is not calculable because ash is not disclosed. It is left blank rather than overstated.

  • Carbohydrate burden

    Carbohydrate is not precisely calculable because ash has not been disclosed. This is an evidence limitation, not evidence of high carbohydrate, so it is removed from the score and reported as reduced confidence.

    NOT SCORED
  • Ingredient based plant load

    Plant load assessed as VERY HIGH. Carbohydrate bearing plant ingredients: peas (whole pulse), potatoes (starchy vegetable), lentils (whole pulse), pea protein (concentrated plant protein).

    0 / 8
  • Combined pulse load

    3 pulse ingredients detected at positions 2, 6, 7: peas, lentils, pea protein. Together these represent a substantial plant contribution.

    -2
  • Pulse protein disclosure

    A concentrated pulse protein is present. Its inclusion level is not published, so no share of the protein figure is asserted. It is deducted once under Ingredient Quality rather than a second time here.

    N/A
  • Split plant fractions

    Split plant fractions understate the true plant load in the ingredient order.

    -1

How is it made?

5 / 10

Processing method: Extruded. This category measures food integrity only. Raw handling safety is assessed separately under Safety and Quality Control, so a raw food can score well here and still lose safety points.

  • Processing method

    Extruded processing. Food integrity only. Raw handling safety is assessed separately under Safety and Quality Control.

    +5 / 10

How transparent is the manufacturer?

10 / 10
  • Animal species clearly identified

    Every animal ingredient names its species.

  • Ingredient sourcing disclosed

    Not publicly verified

  • Country or region identified

    Country or region of origin published: United States.

  • Manufacturing location identified

    Not publicly verified

  • Detailed nutritional analysis

    A detailed nutritional analysis is published.

  • Traceability information

    Not publicly verified

  • Manufacturer provides sourcing detail

    Not publicly verified

  • Overall formulation transparency

    A complete ingredient panel and an identified manufacturer are on file.

Marketing language alone does not count. Anything that has not been published is shown as not publicly verified rather than as a failure.

Nutritional Formulation

10 / 10
  • Complete and balanced for the stated life stage

    Not publicly verified

  • Feeding trial or validation

    Not publicly verified

  • Intended use clearly stated

    Not publicly verified

  • Guaranteed analysis published

    A guaranteed analysis is published for this formula.

  • Calcium and phosphorus disclosed

    Not publicly verified

  • Feeding guidance for supplemental use

    Not publicly verified

Safety and Quality Control

10 / 10
  • Batch testing

    Not publicly verified

  • Pathogen testing

    Not publicly verified

  • Supplier verification

    Not publicly verified

  • Lot traceability

    Not publicly verified

  • Nutrient verification

    Not publicly verified

  • Manufacturing quality program

    Not publicly verified

  • Recall context and corrective action

    No recalls on file.

A recall alone does not destroy a score. Severity, cause, frequency, recency and documented corrective action are all considered.

What we could not verify

Unknown information is not treated as bad information. It is scored as unverified and it lowers the confidence rating instead.

  • Carbohydrate (incomplete guaranteed analysis)
  • Verified animal ingredient percentage
  • Ingredient sourcing evidence
  • Manufacturing location
  • Quality control and testing evidence
  • Calcium and phosphorus
Submit a correction or supply missing evidence

Where to Buy

Canadian retailers on record. Stock and price vary by store and province.

    Guaranteed Analysis

    As-fed basis
    Protein
    32%
    36% dry matter
    Minimum crude protein as declared on the label.
    Fat
    17%
    Minimum crude fat as declared.
    Fibre
    4.5%
    Maximum crude fibre as declared.
    Moisture
    12%
    Maximum moisture as declared.
    Energy per cup
    410
    kcal / 8 oz cup
    Calories per standard 8 oz measuring cup as published by the manufacturer.

    Certifications & Claims

    Only certifications we can confirm from the brand's own documentation or the certifying body appear here. Nothing is assumed — if a program isn't listed, it isn't disclosed for this product.

    Not disclosed — no third-party certification is confirmed for this product yet.

    FeedWise Findings

    The FeedWise Verdict

    6.0/ 10GoodModerate Confidence

    Why it scored this way

    • Complete diet: not published
    • Limited animal protein contribution relative to the plant content
    • Concentrated plant protein contributes to the stated protein
    • High ingredient and sourcing transparency

    Full score breakdown

    Animal Protein Quality13 / 25
    Ingredient Quality11.9 / 20
    Carbohydrate and Plant Load0 / 15
    Processing and Food Integrity5 / 10
    Transparency and Sourcing10 / 10
    Nutritional Formulation10 / 10
    Safety and Quality Control10 / 10
    Total59.9 / 100

    FeedWise Score 6.0 · Good · Moderate Confidence

    How FeedWise Scores Dog Food →

    Scored by the FeedWise 100 point model. Read the full methodology.

    Community reviews do not affect the Feed Wise score.

    Owner reviews

    Real experiences from Paw Privileges members. Reviews never affect the Wise score — scoring is based only on label evidence.

    • No reviews yet — be the first.

    Similar Products

    More from Honest Kitchen