Acana Freeze-Dried Patties, Free-Run Turkey Recipe
Acana

Freeze-Dried Patties, Free-Run Turkey Recipe

Submit correction or new panel
Freeze-dried

An independent Feed Wise evaluation of Acana Freeze-Dried Patties, Free-Run Turkey Recipe, built from the published ingredient panel, guaranteed analysis, certifications and processing method.

Named turkey with ground bone first
5 named animal proteins
Whole ground bone (calcium source)
Freeze-dried
Size
0.40 kg
Food type
Freeze-dried
UPC
Not recorded
Brand
Acana
Country
Not disclosed
Feed Wise Score
7.0out of 10
VERY GOOD

Complete diet: complete and balanced (aafco)

76%
Confidence
Moderate confidence

Share of scoring criteria backed by published evidence.

Product type
Complete & Balanced Food
Complete & balanced
VERIFIED
Large breed growth
INCLUDED
Standard named by source
AAFCO

Manufacturer statement: “ACANA Freeze-Dried Patties Free-Run Turkey Recipe Is formulated to meet the nutritional levels established by the AAFCO Dog Food Nutrient Profiles for All Life Stages, including growth of large size dogs (70 lb. or more as an adult).” (source: manufacturer product page)

Protein

43%

Fat

28%

Estimated carbohydrate

Not calculable

Processing

Freeze dried

Where to Buy

Expert Summary

Feed Wise considers this a solid, well documented option for ACANA Freeze Dried Patties, Free Run Turkey Recipe, a freeze dried formula led by turkey with ground bone, turkey giblets gizzard and whole herring. The manufacturer publishes an AAFCO nutritional adequacy statement, so it can be fed as a complete daily diet for the life stage named on the label. Owners should note that the country of manufacture is not disclosed.

What is actually in this food?

Turkey with ground bone, turkey giblets, turkey giblets liver, turkey giblets heart, turkey giblets gizzard, whole herring, pumpkin, natural flavor, turkey bone broth, organic butternut squash, organic carrots, organic pears, salt, dried chicory root, turmeric, dried kelp, mixed tocopherols (preservative), vitamins (vitamin E supplement, niacin, thiamine mononitrate, riboflavin, calcium pantothenate, pyridoxine hydrochloride, folic acid, vitamin B12 supplement), minerals (zinc proteinate, copper proteinate), citric acid (preservative), rosemary extract

First 5 ingredients

1. Turkey with ground bone

Tier A, exceptional food ingredient

Named Animal Meat with Bone

Named animal meat with ground bone. This is muscle meat that includes finely ground bone, so it is not pure muscle meat. The bone contributes natural calcium and phosphorus.

2. turkey giblets

Tier A, exceptional food ingredient

Named Animal Protein

Named animal muscle meat. Highest value protein source in the FeedWise model.

3. turkey giblets liver

Tier A, exceptional food ingredient

Named Animal Protein

Named animal muscle meat. Highest value protein source in the FeedWise model.

4. turkey giblets heart

Tier A, exceptional food ingredient

Named Animal Protein

Named animal muscle meat. Highest value protein source in the FeedWise model.

5. turkey giblets gizzard

Tier A, exceptional food ingredient

Organ Meat, Species Not Specified

Gizzard without a named species. Nutrient dense but the species is not identified.

Animal Protein Quality

17.4 / 25

This is the largest single category in FeedWise. It looks at which animal ingredients are present, whether the species is named, whether organs, egg and named fats are included, and whether concentrated plant proteins are diluting the animal content.

  • Named animal protein first

    Turkey with ground bone is a named animal ingredient in position 1.

    +8 / 8
  • Animal Prominence Index

    Animal Prominence Index 82 of 100. This is a FeedWise position-weighted measure of how far animal ingredients dominate the ingredient panel. It is a label-position index, not a manufacturer-disclosed recipe percentage.

    +4.4 / 5
  • Liver

    No liver in the ingredient panel.

    0 / 2
  • Heart

    No heart in the ingredient panel.

    0 / 2
  • Other appropriate organs

    Additional organs included: gizzard.

    +1 / 2
  • Whole egg

    No meaningful egg inclusion.

    0 / 1
  • Named animal or marine fats

    Named animal or marine fat sources: whole herring.

    +1 / 2
  • Verified animal ingredient proportion

    Manufacturer confirms 90 percent animal ingredients.

    +3 / 3

Ingredient Quality

19 / 20

Every ingredient is classified into a quality tier and weighted by its position on the label, so ingredient number one counts far more than ingredient number fifteen.

  • Position weighted ingredient quality

    13 food ingredients assessed by quality tier with early positions weighted most heavily. 8 fortifying nutrients or preservatives excluded from the average.

    +19 / 20

Carbohydrate and Plant Load

12.9 / 15
  • Estimated carbohydrate: not calculable
  • Pulse ingredients detected: none
  • Plant protein concentrates: none
  • Ingredient splitting: not detected

Carbohydrate is not calculable because ash is not disclosed. It is left blank rather than overstated.

  • Carbohydrate burden

    Carbohydrate is not precisely calculable because ash has not been disclosed. This is an evidence limitation, not evidence of high carbohydrate, so it is removed from the score and reported as reduced confidence.

    NOT SCORED
  • Ingredient based plant load

    Plant load assessed as LOW. Carbohydrate bearing plant ingredients: organic butternut squash (starchy vegetable), dried chicory root (fibre ingredient).

    +6.9 / 8

How is it made?

10 / 10

Processing method: Freeze dried. This category measures food integrity only. Raw handling safety is assessed separately under Safety and Quality Control, so a raw food can score well here and still lose safety points.

  • Processing method

    Freeze dried processing. Food integrity only. Raw handling safety is assessed separately under Safety and Quality Control.

    +10 / 10

How transparent is the manufacturer?

2.2 / 10
  • Animal species clearly identified

    Not publicly verified

  • Ingredient sourcing disclosed

    Not publicly verified

  • Country or region identified

    Not publicly verified

  • Manufacturing location identified

    Not publicly verified

  • Detailed nutritional analysis

    A detailed nutritional analysis is published.

  • Traceability information

    Not publicly verified

  • Manufacturer provides sourcing detail

    Not publicly verified

  • Overall formulation transparency

    A complete ingredient panel and an identified manufacturer are on file.

Marketing language alone does not count. Anything that has not been published is shown as not publicly verified rather than as a failure.

Nutritional Formulation

7.5 / 10
  • Complete and balanced for the stated life stage

    ACANA Freeze-Dried Patties Free-Run Turkey Recipe Is formulated to meet the nutritional levels established by the AAFCO Dog Food Nutrient Profiles for All Life Stages, including growth of large size dogs (70 lb. or more as an adult).

  • Detailed nutritional analysis available

    A full guaranteed analysis with energy content is on file.

  • Qualified formulation expertise

    Not publicly verified

  • Feeding trial or validation

    Not publicly verified

  • Calcium and phosphorus disclosed

    Not publicly verified

Safety and Quality Control

1 / 10
  • Batch testing

    Not publicly verified

  • Pathogen testing

    Not publicly verified

  • Supplier verification

    Not publicly verified

  • Lot traceability

    Not publicly verified

  • Nutrient verification

    Not publicly verified

  • Manufacturing quality program

    Not publicly verified

  • Recall context and corrective action

    No recalls on file.

A recall alone does not destroy a score. Severity, cause, frequency, recency and documented corrective action are all considered.

What we could not verify

Unknown information is not treated as bad information. It is scored as unverified and it lowers the confidence rating instead.

  • Carbohydrate (incomplete guaranteed analysis)
  • Ingredient sourcing evidence
  • Manufacturing location
  • Quality control and testing evidence
  • Calcium and phosphorus
  • Country of manufacture
  • Pathogen testing
Submit a correction or supply missing evidence

Where to Buy

Canadian retailers on record. Stock and price vary by store and province.

    Guaranteed Analysis

    As-fed basis
    Protein
    43%
    45% dry matter
    Minimum crude protein as declared on the label.
    Fat
    28%
    Minimum crude fat as declared.
    Fibre
    5%
    Maximum crude fibre as declared.
    Moisture
    5%
    Maximum moisture as declared.
    Energy
    4200
    kcal / kg
    Metabolisable energy per kilogram.
    Energy per cup
    105
    kcal / 8 oz cup
    Calories per standard 8 oz measuring cup as published by the manufacturer.

    ACANA Freeze-Dried Patties Free-Run Turkey Recipe Is formulated to meet the nutritional levels established by the AAFCO Dog Food Nutrient Profiles for All Life Stages, including growth of large size dogs (70 lb.

    Certifications & Claims

    Published certifications and manufacturer claims appear with their source where available. A source link documents the claim; it is not independent certification.

    AAFCO nutrient profile statement
    Manufacturer claim

    FeedWise Findings

    The FeedWise Verdict

    7.0/ 10Very GoodModerate Confidence

    Why it scored this way

    • Complete diet: complete and balanced (aafco)
    • Solid named animal protein base
    • No concentrated plant protein inflating the protein figure
    • Limited publicly verified sourcing information
    • Strong whole food formulation

    Full score breakdown

    Animal Protein Quality17.4 / 25
    Ingredient Quality19 / 20
    Carbohydrate and Plant Load12.9 / 15
    Processing and Food Integrity10 / 10
    Transparency and Sourcing2.2 / 10
    Nutritional Formulation7.5 / 10
    Safety and Quality Control1 / 10
    Total70 / 100

    FeedWise Score 7.0 · Very Good · Moderate Confidence

    How FeedWise Scores Dog Food →

    Scored by the FeedWise 100 point model. Read the full methodology.

    Community reviews do not affect the Feed Wise score.

    Owner reviews

    Real experiences from Paw Privileges members. Reviews never affect the Wise score — scoring is based only on label evidence.

    • No reviews yet — be the first.

    Similar Products

    More from Acana